add to favourites | espaŮol help | search | admin | home  
 - Home
 - CTCL Officers
 News & Articles
 - News
 - Rules & Documents
 Schedule & Results
 - Schedule
 - Submit Scorecard
 - Scorecards
 - Chauka scorecard
 - Statistics
 - Standings
 Teams & Grounds
 - Players
 - Teams
 - Grounds
 Cricket Community
 - CCL Discussion Forum
 - CCL Cougars
 - CCL Home

Home » News » News article


2016 CTCL T20 Champions - Cheetahs

Author: Manoj Gangwar
Date submitted: Oct 18, 2016

2016 CTCL T20 Champions - Cheetahs

Final - Cheetah Vs Scorpions Sunday Oct 16th

2016 CTCL T20 Champions Cheetahs had a great journey to the Playoffs this year with 8 WINS in the league stage and winning with massive margins most of the time. Cheetahs demolished Denver Stars in the Quarter-Finals to face CSU RAMS in the Semi-Finals where they were given a good fight by Rams. But CHEETAHS prevailed to reach the Finals for the first time after forming the team last year. The Final was scheduled at the Denver Ground against Scorpions who were playing their second consecutive finals this year. Scorpions won the toss and elected to field first which was really surprising given Cheetahs batting strength. Cheetahs started off really well with Satyam and Rajesh playing positively to build a good partnership at 6 rpo. Before the 9th over, Cheetahs lost three quick wickets back-to-back which made Scorpions think that they were on the top with Cheetahs making 48 runs in 8 overs with 3 wickets lost. But Cheetahs had other plans; enforcing the powerplay at the most unexpected time, Manjeet (34 off 16) and Satyam (42 off 24) destroyed the best bowlers in the Scorpions team with 49 RUNS in 2 OVERS. Cheetahs scoreboard read 96 runs in 10 overs. The match was virtually over in these two overs with the average score about 100 in 20 overs at this ground. Cheetahs kept up the continual
assault with the help of more spectacular hitting by Preetham (51 off 26) to take the target to an incredible record score of 185 in 20 overs. Cheetahs chose quite a stage to come up with the best batting display in the whole tournament. Scorpions batting was like a formality with Cheetahs knowing that this score would be well beyond the scope of the opposition. But having said that Cheetahs showed tremendous commitment in bowling getting Scorpions out for a negligible score of 40 runs. Bhuvesh bowled exceptionally with 4 wickets for 13 runs. Cheetahs won the FINALS with an incredible 145 runs which should be a record in itself. Satyam was awarded the Man of the Finals with 42 runs and 2 wickets. With an incredibly dominating win Cheetahs take home the CTCL 2016 T20 Trophy.

See Cheetah Vs Scorpions Scorecard

Third Position - Spartans Vs CSU RAMS

Spartans won the toss and elected to field.

Due to the pitch being wet, CSU Rams requested to delay the match by 45 min. Cheetahs umpires after consulting the EC team decided to start the game at 10:45am.

Spartans bowlers started off well picking 3 wickets and restricting CSU to 10 runs in power play. Spartans bowlers continued to bowl good lines and CSU Rams trying to score runs lost wickets in intervals and were 42/6 in 10 overs. Later CSU rams captain Vihari Roy along with Ravikanth Mahindra built a partnership and played well to take CSU rams from 42/6 to a competitive score of 74/7 in 17 overs. Later Aditya Nandhuri played a cameo to take CSU Rams to 90/9 in 20 overs. Vihari Roy 32(30), Aditya Nandhuri 11(9) were the top scorers for CSU Rams while Spartans bowler Ram Prasad took 2/5 in his 2 over spell.

Spartans requiring 91 to win third place started off poorly by losing both the openers for no runs and by the end of power play they were 8/2. Good opening bowling from Sagar Bijjam and Srinivas Reddy who didnít give Spartans any chance to score and kept the pressure on the batsmen. Spartans batsmen Santosh along the Uday built a partnership and took Spartans to 35/3 in 10 overs. Looking to hit a big shot Uday was caught in the 12 over and Spartans require another 49 runs in 8 overs. From the 13th over Santhosh and Akash rotated strike without taking any risks and punished bad balls for boundaries. Especially Santhosh who hit 4 huge sixes and a four to score 40(60) and took the team close to the victory. Akash Played well for his 15 runs of 18 balls which includes one 6 and a four. In the 18th over Sagar Bijjam from CSU Rams brought his team back into the game by taking two set batsmen in consecutive deliveries and Spartans require another 10 from 2 overs. Under pressure to score Spartans gave away couple of wickets and in the end 2 runs were needed of one ball. Vihari Roy bowled the last ball and Hari Kiran Raavi from Spartans connected the ball with his bat and ran for two runs and instead got run out on the second run and scores were tied.

Super Over is on.

Chaitanya and Uday were the batsmen and Sagar Bijjam was the bowler. Sagar was bowling in the block hole to restrict scoring and bowled 2 dot balls in first 3 balls. Looking for a run Uday was run out on the third ball and Spartans scored 1 run and lost a wicket in first 3 balls. Santhosh came to bat again and took a single and gave strike to Chaitanya with 2 balls to spare. Chaitanya took 2 runs of the 5th ball and for last ball Santhosh got run out looking for a run. At the end of Super over Spartans were 4/2.

Requiring 5 runs to win CSU Rams Sagar Chandra and Sridhar Reddy came to bat. Chaitanya from Spartans is the bowler. First 5 balls CSU Rams scored 4 runs and there is one dot ball. With one run to win of the last ball CSU batsmen Srinivas Reddy was bowled by Chaitanya and scores are tied again. Spartans 4/2, CSU rams 4/1.

According to the tournament rule book the next deciding factor is Number of 6ís between the two teams.

CSU Rams 5 Sixes. Spartans 5 Sixes.

They are tied again.

Next deciding factor is Number of 4ís

CSU 1 Four, Spartans 2 Fours.

Based on this Rule Spartans were announced as winners for the third place.

Santhosh 40(60) from Spartans and Vihari Roy 32(30) from CSU Rams were awarded man of the match.

Spartans won the game based on Number of Boundaries after match and super over scores were tied.

See Spartans Vs CSU RAMS Scorecard

"Jaguars" Colorado Tennis Cricket League T16 Champions  
Das Thumma - CTCL highest wicket taker  
CTCL 2017 AGM  
CTCL 2016 Awards Ceremony Photos  
CTCL 2016 Awards  

« back to news listing

2017 CTCL T-16 Points Table
Team P W T L NR Pt

No games recorded at this time.


No Games in the near future.


No Games recently.


back to top
Copyright © Michael Doig. Licensed to Colorado Cricket League (CCL) 2004.
Designed by Michael Doig. Maintained by Kervyn Dimney and Bodhayan Chakraborty.